Great Escape

5 Bedroom(s) | 3.5 Bathroom(s) | Sleeps 6
  • Main living area with kitchen and island.
    Main living area with kitchen and island.
  • Welcome to Great Escape !
    Welcome to Great Escape !
  • Covered porch for everyone to gather & enjoy yard 
games
    Covered porch for everyone to gather & enjoy yard games
  • Bunk house
    Bunk house
  • 1/4 mile to Skegemog lake access
    1/4 mile to Skegemog lake access
  • Historic camp
    Historic camp
  • Outdoor shower
    Outdoor shower
  • "Fox" cabin with queen bed
    "Fox" cabin with queen bed
  • Horse shoe pit
    Horse shoe pit
  • Bleacher seats for the game
    Bleacher seats for the game
  • Side yard with picnic table & gas grill
    Side yard with picnic table & gas grill
  • Yep that's a climbing wall
    Yep that's a climbing wall
  • Beautiful view from the porch. Horse shoes too.
    Beautiful view from the porch. Horse shoes too.
  • Mini baseball field
    Mini baseball field
  • Updated Kitchen with island. Access to front porch.
    Updated Kitchen with island. Access to front porch.
  • View from kitchen to sitting area.
    View from kitchen to sitting area.
  • Family room with TV and games.
    Family room with TV and games.
  • Library/ game area.
    Library/ game area.
  • Master bedroom with King size bed.
    Master bedroom with King size bed.
  • Additional bedroom.
    Additional bedroom.
  •  1  twin bedroom
    1 twin bedroom
  • 2 twin bedroom
    2 twin bedroom
  • Bathroom
    Bathroom
  • Bathroom.
    Bathroom.
  • Bathroom with shower/tub.
    Bathroom with shower/tub.
  • Eagle bunk house with 8 twin beds
    Eagle bunk house with 8 twin beds
  • Bunk house detached from main house.
    Bunk house detached from main house.
  • The "Fox" cabin updated 2018 with new full bed too.
    The "Fox" cabin updated 2018 with new full bed too.
  • Fox cabin
    Fox cabin

Sleeps 6
5 Bedrooms

"Great Escape" is the perfect name for this home. There is relaxation and tons of country fun at this terrific, private location just off Lake Skegemog in the Rapid City/Elk Rapids area. The Great Escape was originally an up north camp in the mid-1960s/70s and now is a wonderful northern retreat. Take your family back to when kids played outside and grown-ups relaxed on the porch sipping iced tea on a warm summer day. Featuring a total of 3 bedrooms and 3-1/2 bathrooms in the main house. You can bring the entire family with an additional 2 rustic bunk houses outside that are great for the kids or adventurous adults. Two-level house. Sleeps 6. (New kitchen summer 2022)

1 king pillow top, 1 twin, and 1 queen on the upper level and 1 full and a sofa bed on the main level in the main house. There is also window air conditioning on the upper level. 5 bunks (10 twins) in the Eagle bunk house. The Fox bunkhouse has a queen mattress and window air conditioning. No bathrooms in the bunkhouses. Direct TV/DVD, and high-speed internet.

Situated on 2 grassy acres it is perfect for outdoor games (yard games are provided), there is a mini baseball field and a badminton court. Also included are a slackline and a small climbing wall for the little athletes in your family. Roast marshmallows on the fire pit at night under the clear northern skies. There are 2 grills provided for big family picnics and 3 hammocks for napping. Relax under the shade of tall trees or stretch out on a blanket. This is how a vacation should feel. Shower outdoors under the stars too in the outdoor shower. Walk out to the huge covered porch with Adirondack chairs and enough room to eat outdoors.

Walk 1/4 mile to Lake Skegemog access. It is 3 miles to Elk Lake access and 6 miles to Torch Lake access. Drive about 15 minutes to Elk Rapids, 18 miles to Horse Show, and 1/2 hour to Traverse City .

Pets welcome. Guests must clean up after their pets. No smoking. Window air conditioner upstairs only.

-- THE PROPERTY --

Sleeps 6.

Bedroom 1: king bed || Bedroom 2: queen bed || Bed 3: double bed

Two bunk houses with bunk beds and a queen bed.

OUTDOORS: Deck/patio, Grill, Lawn/garden, Outdoor play area, Badminton, Climbing wall, Hammock, Firepit, Mini baseball field, Outdoor games, Outdoor shower, Porch, Near lake, Exceptional views

INDOORS: WiFi, Board games, Flat panel TV, DVD player, CD player, Stereo system, Fireplace

KITCHEN: Coffee maker, Dishes & utensils, Dishwasher, Microwave, Oven, Pantry items, Refrigerator, Stove, Toaster, Dining table, Kitchen island, Cookware, Spices

GENERAL: Washer & dryer, Linens & towels, Window A/C, Fans, Smoke alarms, Heating

PARKING: Space for 7 vehicles

-- POLICIES –

- Pets allowed with fee

- No smoking

- No events, parties, or large gatherings

- Must be at least 18 years old to book

- Additional fees and taxes may apply

- Cancellation: For reservations between Memorial Day and Labor Day, cancellations must be received at least 90 days prior to arrival in order for a full refund to be issued. No refunds will be issued for cancellations received less than 90 days prior to arrival. For off-season reservations, cancellations must be received at least 30 days prior to arrival. No refunds will be issued for cancellations received less than 30 days prior to arrival.

Amenities

king
queen
shower
sleep sofa /futon
toilet
tub
twin/ single
churches
cinemas
festivals
forests
library
marina
playground
restaurants
winery tours
Dining
DVD Player
Games
Satellite / Cable
Television
Air Conditioning
Clothes Dryer
Fireplace
Heating
Internet
Linens Provided
Living Room
Towels Provided
Washing Machine
Wifi
Free Wifi
Coffee Maker
Dishes & Utensils
Dishwasher
Kitchen
Microwave
Oven
Pantry Items
Refrigerator
Stove
Toaster
Dining Table
Kitchen Island
antiquing
bird watching
eco tourism
gambling casinos
photography
scenic drives
sight seeing
walking
ATM/bank
groceries
Rural
Deck / Patio
Lawn / Garden
Outdoor Grill
Outdoor Play Area
fishing
freshwater fishing
golf
hiking
hunting
jet skiing
mountain biking
sailing
swimming
tennis
water skiing
water tubing
wind-surfing
children welcome
pets considered
Private entrance
flexible
necessary
Dining Area
Adventure
Away From It All
Budget
Family
Sports & Activities
Tourist Attractions
Smoke detectors
Enhanced cleaning practices
Clean with disinfectant
No-contact check-in and check-out
High touch surfaces cleaned with disinfectant
Towels and bedding washed in water that's at least 60sC/140sF
SafeHome (VRMA & VRHP)
Linens & Towels
Window Air Conditioner
Fans
Fireplace: Wood Burning
Washer & Dryer
Smoke Alarms
Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Full Kitchen
Utensils
Cookware
Coffee Maker
Dishwasher
Refrigerator
Stove
Oven
Microwave
Toaster
Spices
Internet (Wifi)
Flat Panel TV
Satellite Television
DVD Player
Stereo System
CD Player
Board Games
Fire Pit
Charcoal grill
Gas Grill
Porch
Outdoor Shower
Hammock
Outdoor Games
Badminton
Mini baseball field
Climbing wall
Exceptional Views
Near Lake
Torch Lake Area
Elk Rapids Area
Beachcombing
Biking
Boating
Fishing/Fly Fishing
Hiking Trails
Movie Theatre
Playground/Park
Public Parks w/Swim Beach
Sight-Seeing
Swimming
Tennis Court
Golf
Ah-Ga-Ming Golf Course
Wolverine Golf Course
Spruce Run Golf Course at GTR
The Bear Golf Course GTR
Turtle Creek Casino
Sleeping Bear Dunes
Antrim Dells Golf Course
Mallard Golf Club-East Jordan
Nearby Area Fitness Center
Nearby ATM
Nearby Casino
Nearby Coffee Shop
Nearby Copy Shop
Nearby Golf Course
Nearby Grocery/Shopping Center
Nearby Jet Ski Rentals
Nearby Medical Services
Nearby Post Office
Art Gallery(s)
Museum(s)
Symphony Orchestra-TC
Wine Tour(s)
Sleeping Bear Dunes Nat.Lk.Shore
Festivals
Cherry Festival
Wine Festivals (summer& fall)
Wine Events
Tall Ship Cruises
Venetian Festival-Charlevoix
Great Lakes Equestrian-Acme
Brew Festival-Summer
Cherry Bowl Drive-In-Honor
Bayshore Marathon-TC Peninsula
Shorts Brewery Elk Rapids
Mackinac Island
Royal Farms-Ellsworth
Castle Farms-Charlevoix
Bee Well Meadery-Bellaire
Blue Smoke-Dining-East Jordan

Guest Reviews of spacious home w/ guest cabins for family retreat. near torch lake & elk lake.

Rapid City , MI

Vacation Rental Reviews by

True to name...a great escape!

         

Review date: 2024-07-14

Review by
Fantastic front porch and kitchen. Tons of on property activities, board games and fun. Skegemog access walkable and better water than expected. Amplespace including bedrooms and bathrooms for a party of 8 with constant visitors. Would suggest better insect control as ants and earwigs are quite prevalent in the house. A bit overpriced (probably higher due to bed count) as not on the water.
4 out of 5 stars

Multi-generational Vacation

         

Review date: 2023-08-15

Review by
We were in the Elk Lake area for a long-awaited family reunion. We have family members with a house on the lake nearby, so we were already familiar with the area.The house went beyond expectations with a mix of lovely updated features (particularly the kitchen which is stocked with excellent cooking supplies) and cozy old-school camp style. The house is full of books (classics from Hemingway through Harry Potter), board games (lots of current strategy games) and cozy hang out nooks in and out of the house. The front porch is a great spot any time of day to sit in the Adirondack chairs and watch the sunrise, spot the deer in the field across the street or eat at the picnic table.There is no wifi which can be tricky for those like me with limited data or my husband who had to keep working while on our trip. There is an excellent public library in Elk Rapids with good wifi and an excellent, helpful staff.The house is not on the water but Elk Rapids has a great public beach right in town with free parking and easy access. A lot of the beach is sandy in the water but wearing water shoes are a good idea for avoiding the occasional sharp or slippery rocks and shells.Thank you for a great week!
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2023-08-17

Manager Response:
Thank you for taking time to review this property. We so appreciate you sharing your vacation experience with us! 2024 update: The house now has WiFi.

Great place for a crowd

         

Review date: 2023-07-11

Review by Phillip K.
We rented this home for 3 families visiting from Australia and Ohio. The facilities were perfect for our needs. We had 6 adults, 2 older teens and two younger children.Our only problem was around the communication with the rental agent. We received specific instructions, the day before the rental, telling us that there was a key safe and giving us the combination. We spent quite some time searching for the key safe and then discovered that the back door was unlocked and the key was on the kitchen bench. Also, we were told that there would be no supplies in the rental. We made a trip to the supermarket before hand and spent several hundred dollars purchasing everything from salt & pepper to paper towels only to find when entering the property that it was well stocked and we only needed to top up the supplies.All up, we would be thrilled to stay in this property again on our next trip.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2023-07-13

Manager Response:
We are pleased to know that you would stay at this home again, and that it was perfect for your needs! We do apologize about your experience in accessing the home. We have spoken to the housekeeper. Regarding supplies, in order to ensure that all guest are prepared to have the kitchen supplies they prefer, we advise all guest to plan accordingly.

Wonderful Vacation Home

         

Review date: 2022-07-04

Review by Carol M.
The house was in great shape and had everything we needed. Dishes, pots and pans and cooking essentials all in great condition. The children loved the outdoors and all the games that came with the house.We enjoyed the fire pit and all the hammocks. House is a perfect location near all the chain of lakes, wineries, shopping and dining. Would definitely rent again when and if the occasion arises.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2022-07-05

Manager Response:
We look forward to your return! Thank you for taking time to share your experience.

Lovely Up North Family Vacation

         

Review date: 2021-08-25

Review by Raye Z.
Our family had a very enjoyable stay at this location. We really liked the quiet location, away from traffic and noise, yet so close to things we wanted to do. The lake at the bottom of the road was perfect for launching kayaks, and the country roadsin the area were great for the bicyclists in our family. The cottage was comfortable and spacious and this reviewer enjoyed the rocking chairs on the front porch. The furnishings were comfortable, not fancy. We found this location close to the small towns in the area we enjoyed visiting, and we always found nice restaurants. All in all, a good experience.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2021-08-26

Manager Response:
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed this quite location with great access to the lake, as well as the rocking chairs on the porch! So nice to know you had a good experience.

GREAT PLACE!!

         

Review date: 2021-06-30

Review by Diane P.
We had a wonderful time at the Chippewa house. Accommodated everyone and the bunk house was a hit with all the kids. The location is very convenient to both Elk Lake and Torch Lake. Kitchen area small for the size of the house.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2021-07-01

Manager Response:
Thank you - we are pleased to hear that the kids enjoyed the unique bunk house!

Michigan Get Away

         

Review date: 2020-08-03

Review by Sande B.
Four adults 2 kids and a dog! A perfect spot in a unique part of the world!
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2020-08-04

Manager Response:
So good to know that you enjoyed this property !

What a treat!

         

Review date: 2019-08-23

Review by Mitchell V.
We had 11 adults and seven kids. There was plenty of room to run and play and lots of games provided. The lakes were all very close and we had a really great time.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2019-08-25

Manager Response:
So glad your family has space to spread out at this property!

Family Reunion Up North

         

Review date: 2017-08-10

Review by Larissa D.
Overall, this was a great experience. The property was amazing, with so many outdoor activities and that huge patio. While it was clean, we did have some bug issues. Pest control came quickly to take care of wasp nests, but the bunk house and small cottage need some upkeep and cleaning. It is tricky to keep them completely pest free, but the cobwebs could be removed/dusted out. We also couldn't tell if blankets had been washed, or just sheets? If staying with a large group, as we did, be aware that there are really only two beds for couples, a king and a queen. One couple slept on twins and the other out in the little cabin. This was a fun, rustic, spot, but the bed is truly awful to sleep on for a week. It is just a mattress, no spring underneath it, and it was terrible. The kids loved the bunkhouse, and we had no issues with being too hot or too cold, and no one got wet in the storms we had. We loved being outside and playing kickball, badminton, running around, the hammocks. The trash cans were completely full when we arrived and they did come to remove stuff for us. We left them out for Friday pick up, but then by Sunday when we left, we left them almost entirely full. Might need to work on that for future guests. The area is stunning, so many options within a half hour-one hour drive. The door on the patio did not close completely, and was never actually locked, so that should be fixed. Anyone could have gotten in. Overall a fun property, great for lots of kids, but need more bed options for couples, and keep the outdoor sleeping spaces cleaner.
4 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2017-08-22

Manager Response:
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Great Escape. For 2018 the single guest cabin will get a face lift and a new mattress. For the summer of 2018 window a/c has been added to the Fox cabin. Bugs are the bane of our existence here in the north. Bugs bugs everywhere! We are sorry about that. We will have homes sprayed for wasps. More totes will be added in 2018 for the garbage. Thanks so much and we hope to have you visit again.

Reunion

         

Review date: 2017-07-28

Review by Jenifer A.
Overall good. Would have been nice if the grass had been mowed and house treated for ants. Bedroom is shed like building attached to garage was more rustic than represented and had a wasp nest in it, one of the guests was strung.
4 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2017-08-01

Manager Response:
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay. Rest assured, the wasp's nest will be taken care of! Also, ants are unfortunately very prevalent up north during the summer and we will definitely set some traps. The cabin has been updated 2018 and a new memory foam mattress too. There is also now a window a/c.

Perfect Trip

         

Review date: 2016-08-09

Review by Shane M.
The house and yard were clean and well taken care of. Plenty of room for a large crowd. We loved all the yard games and hammocks. Really close to both Torch, Elk, and Skegamog lake. I will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2018-03-29

Manager Response:
Great Escape is sure a perfect home for having a big group or gathering with family. We are glad you had so much fun.

FABULOUS!!!

         

Review date: 2016-08-02

Review by
We had 17 family members (9 of them being children) none of us ever felt crowded. The children had endless things to do, never once did any of them say " Im bored" We had day trips planned, location seemed pretty central. We all agreed if we ever wanted to go back to this area we would definitely choose this rental again.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2016-08-03

Manager Response:
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the kids were never bored. We hope you will be coming back to see us soon!

Great property for extended family

         

Review date: 2016-07-12

Review by Kevin M.
We had a great time at the Great Escape. The property itself kept everyone occupied, especially the kids. The Eagle cabin was perfect for the eight grandkids. The house was clean, the kitchen was very functional, and the gas grill was brand new. The only things I would change would be 1) put a showerhead in the 2nd upstairs bath, and 2) I wish it was closer to the water. 0.5 mile walk. Great stay!
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2016-07-25

Manager Response:
We are glad you had a great stay and will check on the shower head and wish we could make the home closer to the water but that one is impossible :) Hope you will be back again to stay with us soon!

Great Escape

         

Review date: 2016-07-07

Review by Britton H.
Enjoyable
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2016-07-07

Manager Response:
We are glad you had an enjoyable stay! Come back and see us again!

Family gathering to attend a TC wedding!

         

Review date: 2015-09-02

Review by
We did enjoy staying at the Lake Skegamog house. It gave us the opportunity to socialize together over morning coffee on the porch and breakfast before going off for our wedding activities. We did get to eat at Pearl's in Elk Rapids and at Short's Brewery in Bellaire. We highly recommend both. Time at the beach and wine tasting rounded out the time that we had left over from the wedding. The house location was an advantage for these activities. Our only disappointment was that we were led to believe that there were 2 queen beds in the main house and there was only one. We had to rearrange sleeping asignments because of this.
5 out of 5 stars

Fourth of July Weekend

         

Review date: 2015-07-28

Review by Jillian C.
It was an awesome spot for a weekend away with many friends, lots of sleep space and tons of outdoor activities and space. Would definitely recommend this spot.
5 out of 5 stars

Rustic country living

         

Review date: 2013-07-30

Review by John B.
Very nice, private country home, with a Up North camp feel. Worked perfectly for a bunch of guys on a golf outing. Would stay again.
4 out of 5 stars

Perfect for large group

         

Review date: 2011-07-19

Review by James R.
19 guys for a bachelor party. Could not have been a better place! Horseshoes, badminton, and whiffle ball all ready to go. Large firepit and grill for cooking. Short walk to the lake for swimming. About 20 minutes from the casino in TC. Lots of room/beds so no sharing needed. Definitely recommend!
5 out of 5 stars

Great place

         

Review date: 2010-07-01

Review by
Beautiful house and surronding area. We had great weather so we were outside the whole weekend. Torch lake is only about 5 mins away. Only complaint was the house was suppose to be ready for us at 1pm and the cleaning lady was there until 230
5 out of 5 stars
July 2024
S M T W T F S
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
August 2024
S M T W T F S
        01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
September 2024
S M T W T F S
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
October 2024
S M T W T F S
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
November 2024
S M T W T F S
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
December 2024
S M T W T F S
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
January 2025
S M T W T F S
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
February 2025
S M T W T F S
            01
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28  
March 2025
S M T W T F S
            01
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
April 2025
S M T W T F S
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
May 2025
S M T W T F S
        01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
June 2025
S M T W T F S
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
July 2025
S M T W T F S
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
Please select the dates under "Book Your Stay" to get rates.

Inquire about this property:

Comments & Questions:
Book Your Stay