Northern Exposure

5 Bedroom(s) | 3 Bathroom(s) | Sleeps 12
  • Living room
    Living room
  • Welcome to Northern Exposure !
    Welcome to Northern Exposure !
  • Patio walk out to from lower level walk out family room
    Patio walk out to from lower level walk out family room
  • Porch swing off of patio/fire pit
    Porch swing off of patio/fire pit
  • Suttons Bay marina
    Suttons Bay marina
  • Fall color
    Fall color
  • Suttons Bay marina is walking distance from the house
    Suttons Bay marina is walking distance from the house
  • Marina walk
    Marina walk
  • Early morning on the bay-Suttons Bay. Nice walk to the lake.
    Early morning on the bay-Suttons Bay. Nice walk to the lake.
  • Living room with fireplace.
    Living room with fireplace.
  • Living room with fireplace.
    Living room with fireplace.
  • Living room
    Living room
  • Kitchen and dining area.
    Kitchen and dining area.
  • Kitchen and dining area.
    Kitchen and dining area.
  • Kitchen with island.
    Kitchen with island.
  • Kitchen with island.
    Kitchen with island.
  • View from upstairs.
    View from upstairs.
  • Door way to two bedrooms and a bathroom.
    Door way to two bedrooms and a bathroom.
  • Upstairs reading nook.
    Upstairs reading nook.
  • Reading nook.
    Reading nook.
  • Bedroom with a trundle bed.
    Bedroom with a trundle bed.
  • Bedroom with trundle bed.
    Bedroom with trundle bed.
  • Master bathroom
    Master bathroom
  • Master bathroom.
    Master bathroom.
  • Master bedroom with private balcony.
    Master bedroom with private balcony.
  • Master bedroom.
    Master bedroom.
  • Master bedroom with private balcony.
    Master bedroom with private balcony.
  • Master bedroom.
    Master bedroom.
  • Bathroom
    Bathroom
  • Bathroom with walk in shower.
    Bathroom with walk in shower.
  • Bathroom.
    Bathroom.
  • Downstairs bedroom.
    Downstairs bedroom.
  • Downstairs bedroom.
    Downstairs bedroom.
  • Downstairs bedroom.
    Downstairs bedroom.
  • Downstairs bedroom.
    Downstairs bedroom.
  • Downstairs bathroom with walk in shower.
    Downstairs bathroom with walk in shower.
  • Downstairs bathroom.
    Downstairs bathroom.
  • Downstairs bedroom.
    Downstairs bedroom.
  • Downstairs bedroom.
    Downstairs bedroom.
  • Game room downstairs.
    Game room downstairs.
  • Game room downstairs.
    Game room downstairs.
  • Downstairs game room.
    Downstairs game room.
  • Downstairs family room.
    Downstairs family room.

Sleeps 12
5 Bedrooms

Located in the charming town of Suttons Bay, Northern Exposure is a lodge-style, multi-level home with 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, and accommodation for 12 guests.

The home features a spacious main living room area with vaulted ceilings and large windows that provide a stunning view. It has a wood fireplace and central A/C, creating a perfect spot for relaxation and gatherings. Each level of the home has sleeping accommodations and a bathroom. There are two bedrooms on the upper level, two on the main floor, and one on the lower level. An air mattress is also available if needed. The lower level includes an entertainment area with a TV, a treadmill, and four video game stations with classic games like Pac-Man.

Guests can enjoy outdoor seating on the decks and a fire pit/patio area. The property also features a gazebo, an ideal spot for morning coffee.

The home's location in the village provides easy access to the town's amenities, including public beaches on West Grand Traverse Bay, restaurants, a movie theater, shopping, wine tasting, a brewery, tennis and basketball courts, and the Leelanau Trail, which runs from Suttons Bay to Traverse City. Additionally, guests can rent bikes in town to explore
, and the Leelanau Sands Casino is less than 10 minutes away.

Pets are welcome, with a maximum of two pets allowed.


Sleeps 12.

Bedroom 1: queen bed || Bedroom 2: twin bed with trundle || Bedroom 3: queen bed || Bedroom 4: queen bed || Bedroom 5: queen bed || Queen air mattress

OUTDOORS: Fire pit, gas grill, deck, patio, balcony, outdoor chairs, gazebo

INDOORS: Wood-burning fireplace, WiFi, smart TVs (3), cable TV, arcade games, air hockey, treadmill

KITCHEN: Fully equipped, cooking basics, dishware & flatware, microwave, toaster, drip coffee maker, coffee grinder, wine cooler, dishwasher, trash bags, paper towels

GENERAL: Washer & dryer, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, child booster seat, towels & linens, toilet paper, bar soap, central A/C

MISC: living space on three levels

PARKING: space for 5 vehicles with garage parking

-- POLICIES --

- Pets considered with fee

- No smoking

- No events, parties, or large gatherings

- Must be at least 18 years old to book

- Additional fees and taxes may apply

- Cancellation: For reservations between Memorial Day and Labor Day, cancellations must be received at least 90 days prior to arrival in order for a full refund to be issued. No refunds will be issued for cancellations received less than 90 days prior to arrival. For off-season reservations, cancellations must be received at least 30 days prior to arrival. No refunds will be issued for cancellations received less than 30 days prior to arrival.

Amenities

bay/sound
winery tours
Game Room
Satellite / Cable
Television
Video Games
Smart TV
Air Conditioning
Clothes Dryer
Fireplace
Hair Dryer
Heating
Linens Provided
Living Room
Towels Provided
Washing Machine
Wifi
Free Wifi
Travel Crib
Coffee Maker
Dishes & Utensils
Dishwasher
Ice Maker
Kitchen
Microwave
Oven
Pantry Items
Refrigerator
Stove
Toaster
Dining Table
Kitchen Island
Dishes & Utensils for Kids
antiquing
bird watching
gambling casinos
Water View
Balcony
Deck / Patio
Lanai / Gazebo
Lawn / Garden
Outdoor Grill
Outdoor Play Area
cycling
fishing
swimming
pets considered
Private entrance
Smoke detectors
Enhanced cleaning practices
Clean with disinfectant
No-contact check-in and check-out
High touch surfaces cleaned with disinfectant
Towels and bedding washed in water that's at least 60sC/140sF
SafeHome (VRMA & VRHP)
Pet Considered (off season)
Linens & Towels
Central Air
Ceiling Fans
Fireplace: Wood Burning
Washer & Dryer
Iron
Ironing Board
Soaking Tub
Walk In Shower
Pack-N-Play
Child booster seat
Smoke Alarms
Carbon Monoxide Alarm
Full Kitchen
Utensils
Cookware
Coffee Maker
Coffee grinder
Dishwasher
Refrigerator
Stove top: Gas
Microwave
Toaster
Internet (Wifi)
Flat Panel TV
Smart TV
Cable Television
Air Hockey
Video game station
Fire Pit
Gas Grill
Outdoor Dining Table & Chairs
Balcony
Deck
Near Beach
Suttons Bay Area
Basketball Court
Beach Walking
Beachcombing
Biking
Hiking Trails
Movie Theatre
Playground/Park
Public Parks w/Swim Beach
Sight-Seeing
Tennis Court
Cross Country skiing
Snow Shoeing
Sugarloaf the Old Course
Bahle Farms Suttons Bay
Skiing Homestead
Tuckers Bowling Alley
Northport Creek Golf course
Leelanau Sands Casino
Sleeping Bear Dunes
Heritage Trail
Nearby Area Fitness Center
Nearby Bike Rentals
Nearby Boat Launch
Nearby Coffee Shop
Nearby Farmers Market
Nearby Golf Course
Nearby Grocery/Shopping Center
Nearby Library
Nearby Post Office
Nearby Winery
Near Brewery
Art Gallery(s)
Symphony Orchestra-TC
Theatre(s)
Wine Tour(s)
Sleeping Bear Dunes Nat.Lk.Shore
Festivals
Cherry Festival
Bike rentals
Canoe rentals
Brew Festival (winter)
Wine Festivals (summer& fall)
Wine Events
Winter Fest (February)
Tall Ship Cruises
Interlochen Center for the Arts
Great Lakes Equestrian-Acme
Leelanau Peninsula Winery-LL
The Bay Theater-Suttons Bay
Good Harbor WInery-Lk Leelanau
Hop Lot Brewery-Suttons Bay
Traverse City Pit Spitters
Leelanau Peninsula Winer-LL
Boskydel Winery-Lake Leelanau
Black Star Winery-Sutton Bay
Willow Winery-Suttons Bay
Ciccione WInery-Suttons Bay
Right Brain Brewery-TC
M22 Challenge-Glen Arbor
Bayshore Marathon-TC Peninsula
Suttons Bay Ciders-Suttons Bay
Northport Dog Parade
Bel Lago Winery-Cedar
Chateau Fontaine-Lake Leelanau
Laurentide WInery-Lake Leelanau
Grand Traverse Distillery-TC
Northern Latitudes Distillery-LL
The Filling Station Brewery-TC
The Workshop Brewery-TC
Brengman Brothers-TC
Chateau de Leelanau-Suttons Bay
Good Neighbor Organic-Norhtport
Silver Leaf Vineyard-Suttons Bay
Boathouse Vineyards-Lake Leelana
Verterra Winery-Leland

Guest Reviews of multi-story spacious modern home in suttons bay. central air. pet considered.

Suttons Bay , MI

Vacation Rental Reviews by

Awesome Girls Getaway Weekend

         

Review date: 2024-02-20

Review by Kayla B.
House was great! Even with a couple close neighbors, the house was very private. Open space for the group of 10 of us to hangout. Loved it!
5 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Sutton s Bay

         

Review date: 2023-10-17

Review by Daniel M.
House was very nice. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms had been updated so they were nice as well. Worked perfectly for our group. Only drawback for me was all the stairs, so if you have trouble with stairs not the rental you want.
4 out of 5 stars
Manager Response:
We are pleased to know that you found the beds comfortable and enjoyed the updated bathrooms. We are glad to know that it worked perfectly for your group We do hope to inform our guest of this multi level home with our virtual video tour and photos of the interior.

Not our first choice

         

Review date: 2023-09-26

Review by
Booked another location that was pull from us prior to our stay, which was very disappointing. Northern Exposure was ok, but not on the water as was our first choice.
3 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2023-09-26

Manager Response:
Thank you for your review. We very rarely have to ask our guests to choose another property. In this case, the owner informed us in May that the home would be under renovation in September, and we informed you right away.

Ortern Exposure

         

Review date: 2023-08-25

Review by Robert N.
The house was perfect. Large enough for our family but the layout allowed for privacy when needed. Great location, close to the beach, downtown Suttons Bay as well as a short drive to Traverse City.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2023-08-26

Manager Response:
We appreciate you sharing your experience. So glad the house was a "perfect" fit!

Suttons Bay

         

Review date: 2023-08-13

Review by Thomas Michael R.
Good. Great location. The steps were a little bit of a challenge. House was clean and well-appointed except for some cobwebs. A little problem getting in with the key and code but someone came promptly and fixed it.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2023-08-14

Manager Response:
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Awesome spot.

         

Review date: 2023-07-18

Review by
Really great experience for my family. Needed a spot for a few nights before we could move into our family-owned lake spot and this was perfect for our needs. Kids enjoyed arcade area, couldn’t get PacMan game to work. Had a nice fire in the fire pit one night. Loved proximity to the beach playground and shops.
4 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2023-07-18

Manager Response:
So glad you enjoyed this home and had a great experience with the family. Thank you for staying with Visit Up North!

Great for families

         

Review date: 2023-07-10

Review by Sharwari P.
place is great - we had 10 people and used every space we had (including the queen-sized blow-up mattress) to accommodate everyone. Despite the rental setting us up to expect no extra "stuff", the place was decently stocked with at least basics (salt, pepper, etc). HVAC worked well.The location is awesome - just down the hill from the center of town, within a 10m walking distance to the beach, and easy to get around. Close to vineyards and a great central location for staying within the peninsula. Highly recommended & will consider renting this property again for a large group.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2023-07-10

Manager Response:
We are so glad you had a great time! We do not supply the extra's but encourage owners to have it and some guests leave things so it is a bonus when you get there and don't have to go and buy those things! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time and hope to see you again soon!

Favorite Suttons getaway

         

Review date: 2023-05-09

Review by Tammy D.
The house was very well stocked with everything we could have needed. The beds were super comfortable. The bathrooms spotless. We loved the location and seclusion whole still being so close to town. We will be back.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2023-05-09

Manager Response:
Thank you for sharing your experience at this home. We look forward to your return!

Our Northern Michigan Wintertime Happy Place

         

Review date: 2023-02-28

Review by Matt S.
6 adults, 2 kids, 3 dogs - this house is perfect for big groups with plenty of room to spread out and have some privacy. The game room is perfect for kids and the living/kitchen/dining area is great for cards/games with everyone. Beautiful home, well kept and walking distance to Suttons Bay shopping/restaurants.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2023-04-10

Manager Response:
Thank you for taking time to review this property. We are pleased to know that you had plenty of room and enjoyed the amenities.

Fall Wedding Stay

         

Review date: 2022-11-16

Review by
We enjoyed staying at the Suttons Bay house. It was clean, bright and the right size and layout to comfortably sleep grandparents, parents and two small children. We were only two blocks from the Main Street, so we could walk to meals and the playground on the beach. It was also a short drive to Starry Nights, the wedding venue. The views of the bay and changing fall leaves added a wonderful surprise to our stay. I would recommend this house any time of year. We were visiting in October, but we are thinking of returning when the weather is warmer.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2022-11-21

Manager Response:
Thank you for sharing your experience with the home and the Village of Suttons Bay! We look forward to your return.

Great Place

         

Review date: 2022-06-07

Review by
Very clean and unique home in a great location. The kitchen was well appointed. The game room provided lots of entertainment! Lots of space - but lots of stairs also. We would absolutely return to this home!
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2022-06-07

Manager Response:
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed this home and would return!

Great location in the woods

         

Review date: 2022-05-17

Review by Kathy R.
We loved our stay at Northern Exposure - Suttons Bay. It was the perfect setting for our girls weekend/wine tour. Liked that the kitchen had a huge island for food, the large kitchen table was great and the large U shaped couch had plenty of room. All 10 of us had plenty of room. The house was clean and as described. I wish we had more time to have been able to use the outdoor patios. The view is amazing. The only drawback is the stairs, which we all knew about prior to getting there. It was very difficult bringing all our stuff in from the cars - was a very good workout, but we knew that going in, so I wouldn't call that a complaint. I would highly recommend this house and would definitely rent it again.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2022-05-23

Manager Response:
We are so glad that you loved your stay! And the sweet town of Suttons Bay never disappoints.

Northern MI Retreat

         

Review date: 2022-03-02

Review by Matt S.
Excellent house, lots of space for everyone to spread out without feeling like you're on top of each other. Lots of stairs, so not mobility friendly.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2022-03-10

Manager Response:
We appreciate your review and glad you had room to move!

Great stay.

         

Review date: 2022-02-15

Review by todd e.
Enjoyable, Excellent
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2022-02-21

Manager Response:
Thanks for your review! We hope to see you again!

Up North Getaway

         

Review date: 2021-01-08

Review by Wendy K.
We had a wonderful time in Sutton’s Bay. The house was the perfect mix of seclusion, close to town yet tucked in the woods. We loved everything about our stay, We loved the layout of the house, the fireplace on the snowy days and the open kitchen. It really was a perfect home away from home.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2021-01-11

Manager Response:
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the lovely home in Suttons Bay! We are so pleased to know that it was the perfect fit for your stay - away from home!

Great house!

         

Review date: 2020-10-29

Review by Lynelle C.
Beaurtiful house, wonderful location, worked very well for our family. Only negative is that there are lots of stairs, so if you have small children or elderly in your family just be aware.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2020-10-29

Manager Response:
Yes, the home comes with beautiful views of the water from most every window due to the multi level design. We are plesed to hear that this home worked well for your family.

Annual Girls Weekend

         

Review date: 2020-10-21

Review by
Beautiful house! We loved the area and it’s close enough to Traverse City to get anything you need.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2020-10-23

Manager Response:
Glad to know you enjoyed this home & location!

Would Rent Again

         

Review date: 2020-10-13

Review by Jacob L.
Experience was pleasant, house was comfortable for 10 people total. Would rent this home again.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2020-10-15

Manager Response:
We look forward to your return - so nice to know everyone was comfortable!

Clean and Beautiful

         

Review date: 2020-10-05

Review by
Clean and beautiful, just as advertised! Would recommend to anyone who is visiting Suttons Bay. The house is in a great location just walking distance from downtown Suttons Bay. The how was clean and plenty of room to accommodate a large family. The host is a great communicator. Highly Recommendto book with Northern Exposure.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2020-10-06

Manager Response:
We so appreciate knowing that this home was a good fit for your family. Thank you for taking time to share your experience!

Amazing Vacation Home

         

Review date: 2020-10-04

Review by Lauren S.
This home was very accommodating for our group of people. The house was very clean and it was easy to get in contact with the owners, if needed. We definitely will be back! Thank you for having us in your home!
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2020-10-06

Manager Response:
Thank you! We look forward to your return.

Excellent Experience in Suttons Bay

         

Review date: 2020-07-23

Review by
The property and the management staff was very responsive and helpful. The trip was amazing and would highly recommend.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2020-07-24

Manager Response:
Thank you for letting us know ! We are so pleased that your trip went well !

Wedding weekend

         

Review date: 2019-10-08

Review by
This home provided everything we needed to attend a wedding on Saturday in Glen Arbor. It was perfect for 6 adults to get ready comfortably in their own space as it had 3 bathrooms and 3 levels. We enjoyed the ability to walk to town for breakfast which was awesome at the 45 parallel restaurant. A couple of things that could be improved were the front door facing the fire pit did not lock. Also the counter top in kitchen was dirty and old coffee grounds were found in the coffee maker. My young adult daughters loved the beautiful location and view when we woke up Saturday morning. Lovely home in the woods yet close to town.
4 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2019-10-10

Manager Response:
We are so glad you enjoyed this spacious home and the amazing views! Thank you for the suggestions, we will investigate.

Sleeps 14 comfortably

         

Review date: 2019-10-08

Review by
House has many levels with sleeping arrangements so everybody had their own space. Only 1 tub to bath children. Great view and huge couch for everyone to sit around and visit at night. House is very private but very short walk to shops in Sutton’s Bay.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2019-10-08

Manager Response:
So glad you enjoyed this home and everyone had plenty of space. Thanks for taking time to let us know !

Enjoyable family gathering. Perfect weather. Beautiful setting.

         

Review date: 2019-09-18

Review by Kathleen E B.
Was not expecting the many many stair steps, 20 just from lower (entry)level to kitchen. Definitely not meant for senior citizens! House was chosen to accommodate 12 persons which it did.! Some areas could have been cleaner. Kitchen was clean except for stove top-debris under burners. Kitchen was nice and large. Lighting on outside of house poor especially stairway to reach front door. Lights nor working or bulbs burned out? Bee nest in bathroom vent. Contacted rep who indicated problem had previously been addressed. Many broken chairs about..UP North staff friendly, helpful.
4 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2019-09-19

Manager Response:
Thank you for staying with us. We so appreciate your taking time to share your experience. We will look to remedy all of the issues.

Up North Wedding. The Ridge at Verterra Vinyard.

         

Review date: 2019-08-27

Review by
2 1/2 blocks off downtown main street M22. Kids had coffee shops theater small restaurants to eat at.
4 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2019-08-30

Manager Response:
Glad the location was a good fit for the kids. Small town delivered!

Vacation up north

         

Review date: 2019-08-16

Review by
Multi-family vacation
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2019-08-17

Manager Response:
Come back with the family again soon !

august 2019

         

Review date: 2019-08-08

Review by
great place great location we were up for a family reunion and had everyone over for dinner and with all the different levels it never felt crowded the kitchen space is huge and made serving everybody easy
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2019-08-11

Manager Response:
Good to know this property worked well for you !

Pretty Home

         

Review date: 2019-05-08

Review by Shallan S.
The house was very nice. Some random little things I would change or pay attention to. Some of the electrical outlets dont work, the airhockey table doesnt work, and it says 5 bedroom however the 5th bedroom is more like a office/nook upstairs off the master so there is no door to that room/space so its not a private 5th bedroom (good for kids)I was confused about the garbage the note via email said do one things the note on the fridge said another our trip ended on a sun and both trashcans where full when we got there so we put them to the curve for monday pickup. The house itself is awesome for multiple couples as there are many different levels, bathrooms. Nice fireplace outside and a nice big kitchen for cooking/ hanging out. I would bring an extra fry pan and spatulas as they only had 1 fry pan and no spatulas. Over all our stay was GREAT, all little minor things but I would totally recommend this house.
4 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2019-05-08

Manager Response:
Thanks so much for your feedback. We will check out this list of items you reported soon. Sorry for the confusion on the garbage. In winter there is no pickup. In the spring there is. Yes it is nutty. Thank you for putting out. A new frying pan and spatulas are on the way!

Weekend Getaway

         

Review date: 2019-04-16

Review by Nicole T.
This was the perfect home for a large group! We had a wine tour which was very close by the house and walking distance to downtown Dutton’s bay for food and drinks. The house was big enough for our group of 12 and worked perfectly to fit everyone!
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2019-04-18

Manager Response:
So glad everyone was able to enjoy this home and the great proximity to all that Suttons Bay has to offer.

Family Thanksgiving

         

Review date: 2018-11-26

Review by Kimberly F.
Overall, a great experience and we hope to return. We experienced a few inconveniences, but nothing that greatly affected our stay - a window that wouldn’t close completely, a broken light fixture, and a couple of electrical outlets that didn’t work. The only issue that was frustrating was that there was no bedding for the pullout sofa. The home is in a perfect location and the space provided was perfect for our family of 11. Everyone hopes to return again!
4 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2018-12-13

Manager Response:
Thank you for staying at Northern Exposure. This home is huge and many outlets do not get used. We are sorry you found some not working. We do keep extra linens in the various closets and in the lower level on the shelf in a bed bag. It shouldn't be so much work finding them though and we are sorry about that. Everything is well stocked now so there will never be a shortage.

Great place

         

Review date: 2018-11-06

Review by
We were there for a couples wine tour. This place was great for a group of 10. The bedrooms were great, the kitchen and common area was spacious, the house was clean and the location was awesome. We could walk easily right into town. The rental company was easy to work with. I would recommend a different bed in the room with the trundle bed and to find a way to add a door to that room. We could not find dish towels but I'm sure that was an over sight. Overall it was a wonderful place to stay. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5 stars

Family Vacation in Suttons Bay

         

Review date: 2018-09-16

Review by
The multi-level home is in a wonderful location within walking distance of charming Suttons Bay. Northern Exposure easily accommodated a multi-generational family of ten. It has large, bright common living spaces, namely the combined kitchen and dining area as well as the family room, that allowed the whole family to comfortably congregate. The wooded lot and views from the home are picturesque. Being within walking distance of town was our top priority. We've vacationed in Suttons Bay for seven summers and it remains a favorite location. The town offers lovely shops and restaurants, several very good wineries are in the vicinity, and Leelanau peninsula is a beautiful region to explore.
4 out of 5 stars

Great house for families

         

Review date: 2018-09-08

Review by
We had a great time in Suttons Bay. The house is in a great location. Right in town but it feels like you are out in the woods. Management company were very responsive to any questions or issues
4 out of 5 stars

Great for group vacation up north

         

Review date: 2018-08-22

Review by Marah C.
This house was great for a large group trip to Suttons Bay. Fantastic location with easy walk to town and lots of space for everyone with a fabulous large kitchen and living area. The house is listed as 5 bedroom and sleeps 12 but we did not read closely enough to realize that 2 of the sleeping spots are on a pullout couch in the basement. There were no sheets available for the pullout and the mattress was not comfortable. We luckily had extra blankets just in case because of our large group and ultimately two people opted to sleep directly on the sofas instead of the pullout. The other bedrooms were great but the house is really better suited for max of 10 guests, not 12. While there were enough towels for each person and it was absolutely functional, I would recommend bringing extra towels particularly with a large group and if traveling with anyone who likes to use two towels.We received a phone call the morning after we arrived from the management company checking in which was a really nice gesture. We were glad to know they were available if we needed anything and willing to help. Overall a great trip and lovely house!
4 out of 5 stars

Great Adult Getaway

         

Review date: 2018-08-15

Review by Melissa S.
Northern Exposure was a fantastic home for our party of 10 adults. We never felt crowded, had plenty of common spaces to hang out (inside and out), and loved the easy access to restaurants and wineries. We've stayed in this home before, and love the updates to furnishings and finishes that have happened since our first stay several years ago!
5 out of 5 stars

Sutton Bay Hidden Gem

         

Review date: 2018-08-09

Review by Jim V.
We loved our vacation in Suttons Bay. This home was clean, had plenty of community and private space. Location was an easy walk to town/park/beach. We had 11 in our group and everyone had a comfortable bed. Nice kitchen and stereo system through-out the home. Highly Recommend.
5 out of 5 stars

Sutton’s Bay experience

         

Review date: 2018-07-12

Review by Patty C.
Fantastic stay at Northern Exposure chalet in Sutton’s Bay. Beautiful town, awesome accommodations. Just one complaint... the bedroom with the trundle bed and no door. This was unacceptable for our group of 5 couples. 4 of the couples took turns staying in this room and each couple who stayed in the room had a poor nights sleep. This is the only thing that would stop us from renting here again.. just need a double or queen bed and a door on the room. Otherwise the place was spectacular in every respect. So much to do in Sutton’s Bay and area - first time here for all of us. We called about a couple of small issues and it was taken care of IMMEDIATELY! Fantastic company to deal with.
4 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2018-07-12

Manager Response:
We are pleased you enjoyed Northern Exposure. We would love to place a larger bed in that space but there just isn't enough room. Thank you so much for staying with us.

Wonderful Visit to Suttons Bay

         

Review date: 2018-03-13

Review by Cathy D.
We had a wonderful time at this rental in February. I would highly recommend it for a group of 10 or more. Beware, there are alot of steps, so if you have people in your group that can not do steps, this is not for you. We traveled with a group of 5 couples plus 1 and the house accommodated us very well. There is a huge kitchen with central island for entertaining and big kitchen table for meals and playing games. It is nice that the seating area is separated from the kitchen as people tend to gather around food. Everyone had plenty of personal space. It is also nice to have 3 bathrooms, one per floor. The lower level has game area and seating as well....great place for people with kids. The kitchen is a bit sparse, so make sure you bring your favorite cooking utensils, paper plates and plastic bags for leftovers. I hope to stay here again one day.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2018-03-14

Manager Response:
Thank you for staying with us! Yes this is a multi story home so stairs cannot be avoided. We continue to add items to the kitchen for food prep etc.

Suttons Bay Multi Level

         

Review date: 2018-02-22

Review by Tanya B.
Great house for a ladies weekend away. We have rented many houses from vrbo. This house was clean, we'll stocked and cheaper than vrbo. Plenty of clean towels, dishes, etc. Close to town and many wineries and the casino.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2018-02-24

Manager Response:
We are happy you chose Northern Exposure for your ladies weekend and that you decided to come back again for your next one!

Taste the Passion Family Wine Tasting!

         

Review date: 2018-02-20

Review by
The house is very large and accommodating for 12 adults. The kitchen, dinning, living area is perfect for socializing. All open. The house could use some painting of the trim and doors. Pretty beat up. The pull out couch down stairs is very uncomfortable. I do not recommend using. The house was vert musty smelling when we entered it. I'm not sure if it was shut up all winter. Also, a few more hand towels and bath towels would be nice. If these small things could be updated would make all the difference. I would still highly recommend .
4 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2018-02-20

Manager Response:
We are glad you had a great time on your trip come back and see us again! We will pass on your suggestions to the owner in order to improve the house.

Great Girls Weekend!

         

Review date: 2017-11-07

Review by Dana W.
The house was perfect for a large group of people. 12 people comfortablly slept. The kitchen and living room was very open for entertaining a large group. Location is great. The house is older and certain areas are somewhat outdated but everything was fully functional.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2017-11-16

Manager Response:
Thank you for staying at Northern Exposure. The owners have done a great deal of updating and continues to do more. It will just keep getting better and better.

Wedding Weekend

         

Review date: 2017-10-12

Review by Sarah G.
We really enjoyed our stay at the house.The house was very spacious and clean. It was so close to town you could walk. Property management was so helpful that they brought us an iron because there was not one there.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2017-12-11

Manager Response:
Thank you for staying with us.

Perfect Place!

         

Review date: 2017-09-20

Review by Mark S.
Stayed here with a group of friends for a bachelor party. The house was beautiful, with a balcony on every floor (3), a great layout, large living room for gatherings, and plenty of bedrooms. Convenient location to get to breweries, wineries, Traverse City and other great areas in the region.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2018-01-07

Manager Response:
Although we don't allow for Bachelor parties we are glad you had a great time and must have been one of the quiet ones. Some do ruin it for all so we are glad you were able to have a fun vacation. Hope to see you again!

Super Stay in Suttons Bay!

         

Review date: 2017-08-29

Review by Paige A.
We had an amazing stay in this home in Suttons Bay! It's an easy walk down to town to the bars, restaurants and shops, and the layout of the home is perfect for a group of people who want to comfortably hang out together. We made use of all the kitchen appliances, washer/dryer, fire pit and grill, and all were in great working condition. Also, the mattress, pillow and sheet quality were excellent in every room. This was our first visit to this area, but we will be back and will hope to secure this property again.
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2018-01-07

Manager Response:
We are thrilled that you loved your time up here in our wonderful area and hope to see you back again soon!

Easy Walk into Town

         

Review date: 2017-06-06

Review by Gina D.
Location is private in trees,on a quiet street, yet steps from downtown Sutton's Bay. Walk to bike/kayak rental, coffee shop, movie theater,restaurants, shopping.First impression was "Wow. this is a party size house." Multi level inside with bedrooms galore every level and huge kitchen and gathering area. Downside was there was only a bare minimum kitchen gear--only dinnerware,place settings and 3 pans for cooking. No serving dishes, cookie sheets, storage wrap or spices we have found at all our other rentals.Only toaster and coffeemaker supplied. Beds were very comfortable. Cushy towels in bathrooms. Rental was expensive and larger than our party of 3needed, but would be more affordable with multiple guests footing the bill. Stairs can be an issue for some, especially at slippery outside entryway. Only a glimpse of the water through the thick trees canopy. We had an issue with fire alarm low battery beepers and maintenance was prompt to attend, but without fixing problem.
4 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2018-01-07

Manager Response:
We are glad you had a good time and would be back we will make the suggestions to the owner and hope you will be back!

Beautiful Home-Amazing Company

         

Review date: 2017-05-23

Review by Christine Y.
We had a group of friends/neighbors come up to celebrate multiple wedding anniversaries and Birthdays; the house was clean, warm and inviting. Great place to hang out and enjoy each other's company. Would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5 stars

Response date: 2018-01-07

Manager Response:
We are thrilled that you loved your time up here in our wonderful area and hope to see you back again soon!
July 2024
S M T W T F S
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      
August 2024
S M T W T F S
        01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
September 2024
S M T W T F S
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
October 2024
S M T W T F S
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
November 2024
S M T W T F S
          01 02
03 04 05 06 07 08 09
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
December 2024
S M T W T F S
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31        
January 2025
S M T W T F S
      01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
February 2025
S M T W T F S
            01
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28  
March 2025
S M T W T F S
            01
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31          
April 2025
S M T W T F S
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
May 2025
S M T W T F S
        01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
June 2025
S M T W T F S
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
08 09 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30          
July 2025
S M T W T F S
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
Please select the dates under "Book Your Stay" to get rates.

Inquire about this property:

Comments & Questions:
Book Your Stay